About Me

Where to begin?

I grew up in Louisville, Kentucky for the most part and have been here for just over 15 years. After getting my BA in Religion at Centre College I finished law school here in Louisville in 2012. I currently work as an Assistant Public Defender for the Louisville Metro Public Defender. I love it with all of my heart. Long days, difficult cases, and little reward can be really hard but I'm lucky to have the support of my family and amazing Husband! He's the handsome one on my left next to then-Court-of-Appeals-Judge and NOW boss.

We're kind of a big deal - us with three KY Appellate/Supreme Court Justices

While I swam and played soccer and volleyball growing up, I wasn't what you would call an 'outdoor' kid. If given the choice between running around outside with the neighbors and playing dress up or Spice Girls inside I wouldn't have thought long. This disinterest in anything exercise related and my complete lack of willpower led to a pretty ridiculous dependence on food and, unfortunately, some serious weight issues. As long as I could remember I  was always 'heavy'. As much as I hated it being the "big girl" became my identity, and I lived with it.

When I got to high school, things evened out for me. I was relatively happy and my weight was under control. Enter....college!! Though I was a collegiate swimmer my freshman year, I still managed to pack on upwards of 30lbs. I remember coming home one weekend and the scale getting dangerously close to the unthinkable 200lbs. Something needed to change.

Senior year in High School
Sophomore Year in College

Luckily, I found running! At the end of my sophomore year, my grandfather and my mother picked me up off the couch and took me to the park. Every Saturday we'd walk 5 miles. I got back into weight watchers, and slowly the weight started coming off. I ran my first race, a 5K put on by a Sorority at my school - that winter.  The following spring my mom and I signed up for our first half marathon. Unfortunately I got mononucleosis and couldn't run, but watching my mom finish the Kentucky Derby Half Marathon was an amazing experience. I made a deal with myself that it would be me the next year.

I kept my promise and in May of 2008 I completed my very first Half Marathon, the Kentucky Derby Mini Marathon!

Since then I've completed 7 more half marathons and two full marathons. This year I'm jumping in to the Triathlon game with both feet! I've bought an amazing bike - a Felt ZW85 - and I'm headed to Muncie Indiana for the Ironman 70.3 in July.

While I still struggle with my weight, my body image, and my athleticism, becoming a runner has opened so many doors and made me such a happier person.